Search Our Site

Register

The Study of Faith and Knowledge...Boiled Down

More
19 Nov 2017 17:43 #1 by ARLewis
ARLewis ► The Study of Faith and Knowledge...Boiled Down
The Study of Faith and Knowledge...Boiled Down

Growing up, as a good little Lutheran, I studied the Bible, I believed what I was supposed to believe, and did everything I was supposed to do. I went to Sunday school, I went to church, and heck, I even went to Vacation Bible School. In all that time, I never questioned my faith. Well, almost never. I haven’t given up my faith entirely, it’s just...changed.

So, in preparing for this week’s bit of knowledge, I had a problem. How do I talk about something that is at the core of a system of belief that I may not hold wholly true anymore? After a few hours, and cutting out of distractions, I came upon the answer.

Boil it.

Yes, go ahead and read that again and see if those two words will give any more insight. Believe me. If you stop and think on it, it will.

Eden. Boil it down to the core of its story. A paradise. An absolute celebration of everything that is life. A Utopian ideal that is at the heart of everything a Christian believes in. Flora, fauna, and everything that makes up the purest concept of joy. A regenerative land that is constantly refilling and reusing the life and happiness expended. No end to the green some might say.

But at the core of that paradise is knowledge. The knowledge of good and evil, and everything in-between. “And the Lord God commanded the man, saying “Of every tree of the garden thou mayest freely eat: but of the tree of the knowledge of good and evil, thou shalt not eat of it: for in the day that thou eatest thereof thou shalt surely die.” Genesis 2: 16-17.